Christian Platonism

Rediscovering Ancient Wisdom

Psalm 17 (18)

leave a comment »

Psalm 17 [18] Thanksgiving for salvation and victory

I will love you, Lord, my strength: Lord, you are my foundation and my refuge, you set me free.

My God is my help: I will put my hope in him, my protector, my sign of salvation, the one who raises me up.

I will call on the Lord – praise be to his name – and I will be saved from my enemies.

The waves of death flooded round me, the torrents of Belial tossed me about,

the cords of the underworld wound round me, death’s traps opened before me.

In my distress I called on the Lord, I cried out to my God:

from his temple he heard my voice, my cry to him came to his ears.

via Universalis: Office of Readings.

Written by John Uebersax

January 14, 2009 at 7:39 am

Posted in Psalms, storms, Throne

Leave a Reply

